Nick Kyrgios could find himself in hot water after a fiery exchange with the chair umpire overshadowed his first-round victory against Diego Schwartzman at Wimbledon on Monday.
Kyrgios threatened to stop playing after a contentious call cost him a point in the third set of his match, demanding a tournament official to his court to seek clarification.
A challenge called by Schwartzman was deemed to have hit the baseline, but the 20-yearold Australian was livid after the Argentinian was awarded the point given he’d hit the ensuing shot deep before the incorrect out call was made.
Kyrgios argued with the match official, adamant he had heard the lineswoman’s “out” call before he played the shot.
“It got called out first,” Kyrgios argued with the umpire. The umpire then replied: “When the ball was in the air, then she called out.” However, Kyrgios demanded a tournament official come on court to clarify the rules, threatening not to play until they did.