Home » Sports » PMB Hosts Victorious Eaglets
vitorious eaglets

PMB Hosts Victorious Eaglets

Nigeria leader will host World Champions on arrival in Abuja today

President Muhammadu Buhari has said that Nigeria will give a heroic welcome to the victorious Golden Eaglets.

In a statement by his Special Adviser on Media and Publicity, Mr Femi Adesina, Buhari joined other proud Nigerians in looking forward to the Golden Eaglets’ triumphant return to a heroes’ welcome.

“On behalf of the Federal Government and millions of very happy and proud Nigerians, Buhari congratulated the Golden Eaglets of Nigeria on their victory over Mali in the final match of this year’s Under-17 FIFA World Cup tournament in Chile.

A statement by the Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Mr Femi Adesina said the president applauded the exemplary zeal, determination, commitment, hard work, patriotism and soccer artistry which the youthful Golden Eaglets put on display throughout the tournament to win the championship for a record fifth time.

The president noted with delight that the Golden Eaglets not only won the coveted Under-17 FIFA World Cup, but they would also bring home highly-valued individual awards suchas the Golden Boot won by Victor Osimhen for being the tournament’s highest goal scorer and the Golden Ball, won by the team captain, Kelechi Nwakali for being the best player.

Buhari said he believed that by their triumph in Chile, the Golden Eaglets had shown the world that the indomitable Nigerian spirit was alive and waxing stronger.

Triumphant Eaglets arrive Abuja Wednesday

Triumphant Nigeria U17 team, the Golden Eaglets, will arrive the country’s capital city of Abuja Wednesday afternoon, officials have announced.

Nigeria won a fifth FIFA U17 World Cup on Monday when they defeated Mali 2-0 in an all-African final in Vena Del Mar, Chile.

“The latest Golden Eaglets will land in Abuja between 2 and 3pm on Wednesday. They will be on Emirates from Dubai,” an official informed.

Nigeria have also won the U17 World Cup in 1985, 1993, 2007 and 2013, but this is the first time they are winning the tournament outside Asia.

Skipper Kelechi Nwakali was named the World Cup MVP, while striker Victor Osimhen was goal king after a record-breaking 10 goals scored across the seven matches the Eaglets played in Chile.


– Chimaobi Uchendu

%d bloggers like this: