Home » Sports » Okagbare, Egwero Others Make AFN Squad To IAAF Championship

Okagbare, Egwero Others Make AFN Squad To IAAF Championship

Africa’s fastest woman, Blessing Okagbare will lead other Nigerian athletes to the IAAF World Championship scheduled for China later this month. A total of 24 athletes was been selected by the Athletics Federation of Nigeria (AFN) for the event.

The championship, which will kicks off on August 22 in Beijing, China, will see the world’s best compete for honours. “We expect a good outing most especially at the World Championships,” revealed Ken Anugweje, AFN medical director.

“The World Anti-Doping Agency has made a revelation of wide scale doping in world athletes. So we expect a level playing field as many of those who are using drugs will not be able to use them. We expect a good outing unlike last time in Moscow when it was a one horse race for Blessing Okagbare.”

The squad leaves for China on August 17. Squad list: Women: 100/200/4x100m – Blessing Okagbare, Gloria Asumnu, Stephanie Kalu, Deborah Odeyemi, Cecilia Francis, and Ngozi Onwumere.

400/4x400m – Patience Okon, Regina George, Oluwatosin Adeloye, Etim Margaret, Funke Oladoye, Rita Ossai. High Jump – Doreen Amata, 100mH – Lindsay Weyimi Lindley, 400mH – Amaka Ogoegbunam, Long Jump – Ese Brume, Discus – Chinwe Okoro, Heptathlon – Uhunoma Naomi Osazuwa Men: 100m – Ogho-Oghene Egwero, 200m – Odele Tega Peter, 110mH – Tyron Akins, 400mH – Ukaoma Miles, Triple Jump – Tosin Oke.

-Chimaobi Uchendu

%d bloggers like this: