Home » Politics » Kogi APC Lawmakers-Elect Pledge Cooperation With PDP

Kogi APC Lawmakers-Elect Pledge Cooperation With PDP

Joseph Ahmedu in Kogi writes on the determination of APC Lawmakers-elect to cooperate with their PDP colleagues in the Assembly

Bristling from a new surge of power following their first show of strength in the House of Assembly, the eleven legislator-elect on the platform of the All Progressives Congress , APC are threading softly less they arouse too much attention. The eleven Kogi Assembly members-elect elected on the platform of All Progressives Congress (APC) have been urged not to antagonize the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)-led executive when inaugurated on June 6. The House is made of 25 members, which with eleven members still puts the APC in the minority though their support would now be required to have the desires two third majority to pass bills and other lawmaking oversights .

Alhaji Abdullahi Bello, the All Progressives Congress (APC) member-elect for Okene Federal Constituency who is also a serving member of the state assembly made the call at a reception organized for the members-elect on Tuesday in Lokoja. Bello noted that the assembly as an institution and the first arm of government was crucial to governance through its law making and oversight functions but had its limits which the legislators must strictly adhere to.

He urged them to undertake their legislative assignments with due diligence saying: “Know your limits, we are not asking you to go and antagonize the executive, rather you are going to build bridges.”

Bello said that rehearsals, seminars and trainings would be organised for the members-elect and a more elaborate reception organized for them when the party’s leader in the state, Prince Abubakar Audu returned from his overseas trip.

“We don’t want you to come and just pick your Certificates of Return and go back home like orphans. We want you to know that we are here for you and will stand by you”, he said.

Speaking earlier, Chief Clarence Olafemi, former speaker and Acting governor of the state said there was need to put the legislators-elect on sound footing from the onset and urged them to learn from the party leaders.

He said that they were so lucky that in the party leadership in the state were a former governor, a former Acting governor, two former speakers of the state House of Assembly, former and present legislators among many others.

Olafemi who lamented that the present assembly in the state was not worth the name cautioned the members-elect to be steadfast and avoid political constipation saying: “Don’t eat what will cause you political constipation.

“My brothers don’t let them divide you, your unity is very important to the APC. You have a burden to make the change that APC stands for. Be eager to   learn because you cannot buy experience from the market”, he charged them.

He urged the members-elect to always know that “Power is from God and only Him gives it at the time he wants” and urged them to learn from his long search for power in party politics.

Goodwill messages from the three senatorial districts were delivered by member- elect, Ankpa/Omala/Olamaboro Federal constituency, Hassan Omale; Barr Lewis Asubiojo and Chief Ozovehe for Kogi East, West and Central respectively.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has presented Certificate of return to 24 out of 25 members- elect for Kogi State House of Assembly .

The Resident Electoral Commissioner( REC), Alhaji Huseini Halilu Pai who presented the certificate to House of Assembly members elect yesterday at Saatof Hotels in Lokoja, stated that the National Chairman of INEC, Professor Attairu Jega has not signed the Certificate of Ajaokuta member -elect because he was out of the country. Pai congratulated the winners for victory and commended losers for accepting defeat. He acknowledged the success of the election to the efforts of stakeholders in the electoral process especially the security agents,the media and youths.

The REC also advised the stakeholders to extend their resilience to the incoming governorship election in the state. He equally praised the electorates for coming out en-mass to exercise their civic responsibility in orderly and peaceful manner .

The newly elected members who received Certificate of Returns are Abdulmumini Alhaji APC -Ankpa I , Momoh Isiaka Rabiu APC-AnkpaII, SundayShigaba PDP-Bassa,Idoko Moses APCDekina Biraduu,Hassan Abdullahi APC – Dekina II, John Abah PDP-Ibaji, Ukwubile Ochijenu PDP -Idah, Comrade Friday Sani PDP-Igalamela/ Odolu,Omofaye Adewale PDP-Ijumu, Prince Kolawole Olushola Mathew PDP, Kabba/Bunu, Others are Zakari Mohammed Osewu APC- Kogi (KK), Idris Idakwo PDPLokoja II,Obaro Abayomi Sunday Pedro APC- Mopamuro, Osiyi Godwin Ojo- Ogori/Magongo,Kekere Sanni Abdulkareem PDP -Okehi, Mohammed Lawi Ahmed APC-Okene I, the Speaker, Momoh Jimoh Lawal PDP- Okene II, Ene Ojochenemi Linus APC Olamaboro, Adoke Uktar Bello PDP-Adavi, Aliyu Akuh PDP – Omala, Musa Jimoh PDP, Yagba East and Oluwatoyin Lawal PDP-Yagaba West.

%d bloggers like this: