Home » News » Ugwuanyi Reconstitutes Enugu State Advisory Council On Prerogative Of Mercy

Ugwuanyi Reconstitutes Enugu State Advisory Council On Prerogative Of Mercy

Amah Baldwin, Enugu

Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi of Enugu State has reconstituted the state Advisory Council on Prerogative of Mercy with a charge to its members to approach their assignment with due diligence, commitment and transparency.
The council has as its Chairman, the Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice of the state, Chief Miletus Eze, and the State Director of Civil Litigation as Secretary.
Other members are Dr. Cletus Ozordiulu Eze, ACP, Suleiman Isa Ketare and Abba Benedicta Chinyere. Other members are Hon. Sylvanus Chukwuma Anioke, Mrs. Cordelia C. Onah and Godwin Ike.
Speaking during the swearing-in ceremony at the Government House, Enugu, Governor Ugwuanyi noted that the reconstitution of the council was in keeping with the power conferred on him by the constitution of Nigeria.
In his words, “By Virtues of Section 212 Sub-Section 1 of the 1999 Constitution as amended a Governor of the state has power to pardon, grant respite, substitute severe punishment or revert any punishment for any person committed of an offence.”
He however added that the powers of the governor under the aforesaid section of the constitution can be exercised after consultation with the advisory council of the state on Prerogative of mercy.
He said that the law establishing the council indicated that members of the council shall hold office for 4 years, adding that the present members of the council had been in office since 2010, hence the need for the reconstitution of the new members.
In his words, “by section (4) of the Advisory Council on Prerogative of Mercy Law, a member of the council shall hold office for four years.”

In a speech, the chairman of the council, Chief Eze thanked Governor Ugwuanyi for given the members of the council the opportunity to serve.
In his words, “I thank your Excellency immensely for giving us the opportunity to serve.”
He added that with the caliber of members of the Advisory Council that they would deliver.
The event was witnessed by state top government officials including the deputy governor of the state, Hon. Mrs. Cecilia Ezeilo, the speaker Enugu State House of Assembly, Hon. Edward Ubosi and the Vice Chancellor, Enugu State University of Science and Technology Prof.

%d bloggers like this: