Home » News » Supreme Court Dismisses Appeals Against Okowa, Gaidem, Ajumobi

Supreme Court Dismisses Appeals Against Okowa, Gaidem, Ajumobi

The Supreme Court in Nigeria has dismissed appeals filed against the election of the Governors of Delta, Yobe and Oyo States.

In a unanimous judgment, the seven man panel of the apex court led by Justice Walter Onnoghen dismissed the appeals filed by Mr Great Ogboru of the Labour Party and Emerhor Ortega of the All Progressives Congress, challenging the election of Governor Ifeanyi Okowa of Delta State.

It also dismissed the appeal by Mr Rashidi Ladoja of the Accord Party and that of Mr Maina Waziri of the Peoples Democratic Party, who both challenged the elections of Governors Abiola Ajumobi of Oyo State and Ibrahim Gaidem of Yobe State.

The apex court justices said the appeals lacked merit, but deferred reasons for their decisions to February 15 2016.

The journey to the Supreme Court began at the various Tribunals where all three appeals were dismissed for lack of merit.

It proceeded to the appellate court which also agreed with the Governorship Election Petition Tribunal in Delta, Oyo and Yobe States respectively.

The defendants then brought their cases to the apex court which was a final court of decision and in what has become the usual in recent times, the parties in the suites adopted their briefs as their arguments.

After the hearing, the seven-man panel of justices led by Justice Onnoghene retired for 45 minutes to write their judgments and came back with decisions on the different appeals.

In less than 15 minutes, the panel delivered a unanimous judgment, dismissing all three appeals for lack of merit and abuse of court process.

%d bloggers like this: