Home » News » Senate Crisis May Consume Ndume, Na’Allah, Alimikhena

Senate Crisis May Consume Ndume, Na’Allah, Alimikhena

* As APC Projects Lawan For Senate Leader
Teddy Nwanunobi, Abuja
The last may not have been heard of the crisis rocking the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) at the National Assembly since Tuesday, June 9, as the new twist may have set the stage for the current holders of the majority leadership positions to be replaced by new ones any moment from now.
The UNION reports that the plan may see the trio of the current Senate Majority Leader, Senator Ali Ndume; his deputy, Senator Bala Ibn Na’Allah; and the Deputy Majority Whip, Senator Francis Alimikhena; vacate their positions for new occupants.
It was gathered that the APC has already projected Senator Ahmad Lawan to take over from Ndume as the new Majority Leader.
Sources at the National Assembly Complex said that the political solution being worked on by the duo of the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Rt. Hon. Yakubu Dogara, and the Senate President, Senator Abubakar Bukola Saraki, is about to be implemented.
Dogara and the leadership of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in the Senate were locked in a meeting at the new wing of the Senate complex late yesterday evening.
Sources hinted that the Senate President has been under pressure to communicate his allies in the Senate, including the current Senate Leader, Senator Ali Ndume, his deputy, Senator Bala Ibn Na’allah, and the Deputy Majority Whip, Senator Francis Alimikhena, on the need to toe the party’s line as regards the composition of the Senate majority leadership.
Sources also disclosed that Saraki has communicated the trio of Ndume, Na’Allah and Alimikhena of the insistence of the Party on the need for them to vacate the offices.
It was also gathered that Senator Ahmad Lawan has been told of the readiness of the Senate President to announce him as the new Senate Majority Leader.
The National Chairman of APC, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun had, on June 24, written to both Saraki and Dogara, listing the names of the proposed occupants of the leadership positions in both chambers of the National Assembly.
While Dogara kept faith with the Party’s list, after some hesitations, Saraki’s allies in the Senate named different persons, whose names were announced on the Senate floor in July.
The Chairman, in the letter to Saraki named Lawan (North-East) as Majority Leader; Senator Sola Adeyeye (South-West) as Chief Whip; Senator George Akume (North-Central) as Deputy Majority Leader and Abu Ibrahim (North-West) as Deputy Chief Whip.
But Saraki had already named Ndume as Senate Leader, Na’Allah as Deputy Leader, Adeyeye as Senate Majority Whip and Senator Alimikhena as Deputy Majority Whip.

%d bloggers like this: