Home » News » Salary Arrears In 14 Polytechnics Worry ASUP

Salary Arrears In 14 Polytechnics Worry ASUP


Damien Duruiheoma, Owerri

The Academic Staff Union of Polytechnics (ASUP) has expressed worry over the non-payment of salaries of its members in 14 institutions spread across the country in the last ten months.

The Coordinator of ASUP in Zone `D’, Mr Chika Ogonwa, made the feelings of the union known at a media briefing after the emergency meeting of the union held in Owerri, last Wednesday.

Zone `D’ of ASUP is made up of all the Polytechnics, Colleges of educations and Monotechnics in South-East and South-South geo-political zones of Nigeria.

Ogonwa who read the communiqué issued after the meeting named the affected institutions where workers are owed between two to ten months salaries to include: Abia, Edo, Osun, Ekiti, Oyo, and Benue. Others are Imo, Bauchi, Bayelsa, Ondo, Kogi, Lagos, Ogun, and Nasarawa, noting that in spite the release of the bailout fund by the federal government, the state-owned polytechnics and colleges of educations in these states were still being owed arrears of salaries.


%d bloggers like this: