Home » News » ‘Members Rejecting Committees Are After Money, Not Service’ –Rep

‘Members Rejecting Committees Are After Money, Not Service’ –Rep

A House of Representatives member, Hon. Mustapha Dawaki over the weekend said that any member who rejects his or her appointment to chair any committee in the House is after money not service which should be the primary concern.

It will be recalled that two members; Hon. Garba Datti and Hon. Hassan Saleh last week rejected their positions to chair the House committees on solid minerals and local content respectively.

At an interaction with journalists in Abuja, Dawaki said the primary motive of members should be service to the nation, not their personal interest.

The law maker stated that no committee is useless and it is not the right of any member to chair specific committees.

He also said that the leadership reserves the right to place MPs into committees adding that if their primary motion is service, they have no reason to reject such appointment.

He argued that any member who thinks he or she is in the House to make money will be in for trouble as the Speaker will not tolerate such behaviours and will wash its hands off anyone found wanting.

“Mr. Speaker wants this assembly to work and pass a record number of bills. Members must sit up and do the right thing. It will no longer be business as usual.

“Ninety six committee chairmen and their deputies were appointed, APC got 48, PDP 45, APC got 55 Deputy chairmen, PDP 39

“Of the 48 APC chairmen 26 are Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila’s supporters, Of the 54 deputy chairmen 29 are Femi Gbajabiamila’s supporters.

“Some of the grade A committees allocated to Hon. Femi’s supporters include Customs and Excise which both chairman and deputy came from Femi’s group. Hon. Faleke and Hon. Chanchangi. Agriculture and many others are grade A committees.

“There are some committees that naturally belong to some zones as obtained in previous assemblies which include petroleum resources and Gas, those committees were retained in those zones.

“Again, APC got grade A committees such Agriculture, Appropriation, Finance, Police Affairs, Navy, Defence, Interior, FCT, Basic Education, Tertiary Education, Customs, Judiciary, Electoral Matters, Emergency and Disaster Management, Housing, Land Transport, Marine, Pensions, Public Safety and Intelligence, Rules and Business, House Services, Telecommunications, Water Resources and Solid Minerals”.


– Dyepkazah Shibayan, Abuja

%d bloggers like this: