Home » News » Ladoja Vs Ajimobi: Judge Adjourns Hearing To June 23

Ladoja Vs Ajimobi: Judge Adjourns Hearing To June 23

Rotimi Agboluaje,Ibadan.

The three-man Electoral Petition Tribunal hearing the case arising from the April 11 governorship election in Oyo State has adjourned its pre-hearing session till Tuesday June 23,20l5 with a warning against unnecessary waste of time by the counsel.

The three-man tribunal headed by Justice F.C. Obieze and other two members, Justices I.M Muhammad and J E. Ikede,adjourned the matter till next week Tuesday after hearing from counsel of both the petitioners and respondents. Justice Obieze ruled that counsel must file Form TF 008 within stipulated time under the Electoral Act 2010 as amended.

The judge explained that anybody who was lagging behind is doing so at his own peril, maintaining that the tribunal would not grant any request for extension of pre hearing session. He urged parties in the petition to be time-conscious so as to deliver judgment on time. Saying,” no room for technicalities in filing petitions. Anybody who is going to win will win on merit”.

The case number EPT/IB/ Gov./22/20l5 was brought before the tribunal by the Accord and its governorship candidate, Senator Rashidi Ladoja, challenging the victory of the All Progressives Congress (APC) and its candidate, Senator Abiola Ajimobi in the election. In the case, Senator Ladoja and Accord are the first and second petitioners respectively while Governor Abiola Ajimobi and All Progressives Congress are the first and second respondents respectively.

Also joined in the suit are the Oyo State Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC),Ambassador Rufus Akeju and the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) as the third and fourth respondents respectively. Appearing for the petitioners, led by Mr. Richard Ogunwole are Chief Bayo Lawal,Hon.Titilola Dauda, Dr. Nureni Adeniran,Babatubde F a l o l a , E m m a n u e l Ojebisi,Olaide Balogun and J.A. Babalola. While Mr. M.O. Adebayo who held brief for Chief Wole Olanipekun appeared for the first respondent; Oluwarotimi Akeredolu (SAN) led the counsel that appeared for the second respondent.

In the same vein,Mr. Adebayo Sobanjo,Mr. S.O. Babakebe and Miss I.Ezechuckwu appeared for the Oyo State Resident Electoral Commissioner, Ambassador Rufus Akeju and Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

%d bloggers like this: