Home » Energy » Gas Flaring Initiative: Reps To Probe Nigeria’s Absence
gas flaring

Gas Flaring Initiative: Reps To Probe Nigeria’s Absence

House of Representatives yesterday summoned the permanent secretary of the Ministry of Petroleum, Mr. Taiye Haruna to appear before it and explain the reason(s) why the country did not send any delegate to the Zero Routine Gas Flaring Initiative which held on April 17th, 2015 in Washington DC, USA.

This is as the House also mandated its committees on gas resources and Petroleum resources downstream (when constituted) to conduct a comprehensive review of relevant government policies initiatives aimed at curbing gas flaring and asses such to determine if they conform to global best practices.

These resolutions followed a motion entitled “deploring Nigeria’s absence at the zero routine gas flaring initiative in Washington DC, USA” sponsored by Hon. Uchechukwu Nnam – Obi and 13 others noted that Nigeria is faced with severe challenges arising from unbridled gas flaring at onshore / offshore production sites by international oil companies.

Hon. Nnam-Obi while moving the motion told the House,  “The Zero Routine Flaring by 2030 Initiative was launched by the United Nations Secretary General, Ban Ki-Moon and the World Bank Group President, Jim Yong Kim as part of the World Bank’s Spring meeting in Washington USA”.

“The initiative strives to get governments, Oil companies, and developmental institutions to see gas flaring as unsustainable as it constitutes waste of resources, poses grave environmental dangers to the people and also detrimental to the climate, and thus, agree to cooperate to eliminate routine flaring, not later than 2030.

“Nigeria’s absence at the meeting and its inability to sign the treaty, the cardinal objective of which is to end gas flaring by oil companies by 2030 is a major cause for concern”.

Further lamenting Nigeria’s absence at the meeting the law maker said, “Ten multinational Oil companies, six global development institutions and nine nations, such as Norway, Cameroon, Russia, Kazakhstan, Gabon, Congo, Angola and a host of other major industry players were all in attendance while Nigeria with serious gas flaring issues was not represented”.

The motion was adopted by the House after the Speaker, Hon. Yakubu Dogara put it to a voice vote.


– Dyepkazah Shibayan, Abuja

%d bloggers like this: