Home » News » FCT Reruns For 39 Polling Units

FCT Reruns For 39 Polling Units

Patrick Osadebamwen, Abuja

Rerun elections for conclusion of the inconclusive elections in four Area Councils of the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja, will hold tomorrow in 39 polling units, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has said.

The Commission in a statement signed by Prof. Jacob Jatau, Resident Electoral Commissioner of INEC in FCT, said the polls would be conducted in 20 registration areas of Abuja Municipal Area Council (AMAC), Gwagwalada, Abaji and Kuje.

The commission said accreditation and voting would take place simultaneously between 8am and 2pm.

The statement explained that results in the affected polling units were cancelled for reasons ranging from violence, over voting and non-use of Smart Card Readers for accreditation of voters.

Consequently, INEC called on the political parties and their candidates to toe the path of peace to ensure the conclusion of the elections.

%d bloggers like this: