Home » News » Edo: INEC Declares Ize-Iyamu Authentic PDP Candidate

Edo: INEC Declares Ize-Iyamu Authentic PDP Candidate

-Rejects Sheriff’s List

Patrick Osadebamwen, Abuja

Senator Ali Modu Sheriff’s claims to the leadership of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) suffered yet another major setback Thursday as the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) dropped Matthew Iduoriyekemwen, winner of a primary election conducted by the Sheriff-led faction of the PDP.

Sheriff’s faction had conducted its own primary election in the run up to the governorship election in Edo state where Iduoriyekemwen emerged as candidate with Herberta Okonofua-Ayo as running mate.

Prior to that however, the Ahmed Makarfi-led group had conducted a primary election, which was observed and upheld by INEC, at which Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu emerged winner.

In the list of candidates duly qualified to contest the September10, 2016 gubernatorial election in Edo state, published by the Independent National Electoral Commission, Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu and John Ehibhatoman were listed as candidates for governor and deputy governor respectively for the Peoples Democratic Party.

In a statement signed by the secretary of the commission Mrs. Augusta Ogakwu, the publication was said to be in compliance to Section 24 of the Electoral Act 2010, as amended, which demanded that the names of the cleared candidates should be published 30 days before the date of the election.

“Section 34 of the Electoral Act 2010 (as amended) provides that: “The Commission shall, at least thirty days before the day of the election publish by displaying or causing to be displayed at the relevant office(s) of the Commission and on the Commission’s website, a statement of the full names and addresses of all candidates standing nominated.

“The list of candidates and their parties released had Godwin Nogheghase Obaseki (governor) and‎ Philip Shaibu (deputy) for the APC; APGA has Onaiwu Osaze Osaro (governor) with Okpebholo Oyemen Gladys (deputy).

Also on the list are Amos Osalumese Areloegbe (governor) and Jane Osagie (deputy) being cleared for the Labour Party; Cosmos Irabor (governor) and Fredrick Parker Odegua (deputy) for ACPN‎ amongst others.

%d bloggers like this: