Home » News » Edo Guber: APC Adopts Primaries Appeals Committee Report

Edo Guber: APC Adopts Primaries Appeals Committee Report

-Disappoints Imansuagbon, Ogiemwonyi

Dyepkazah Shibayan, Abuja

The National Working Committee of All Progressives Congress (APC), led by the Party’s National Chairman, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun, Monday, adopted report of the Edo State governorship primaries 2016 appeals committee.

This was disclosed by the APC National Secretary, Mai Mala Buni.

Mai Mala Buni also announced that the APC NWC also approved the winner of the June 18, 2016 APC Governorship Election Primaries, Mr. Godwin Obaseki as the party’s flagbearer for the forthcoming governorship election in Edo state.

The three-member Appeal Committee had on Wednesday June 29, 2016 submitted its report to the APC National Chairman at the Party’s National Secretariat in Abuja.

The Election Appeal Committee was chaired by Hon. Opeyemi Bamidele, a former member of the House of Representatives with Alh. Mustapha Salisu and Mrs. Ekwy Onyido as members.

The Appeal Committee received petitions of two aspirants, Barrister Kenneth Imansuagbon and Engr. Chris Ogiemwonyi.

The Committee commenced sitting on Tuesday 21st June, 2016 and sat till Tuesday 28th June, 2016.

The Appeal Committee, in its report, held that the governorship primaries were valid and said that while not dismissing the seriousness of the allegations and claims of the petitioners, the issues raised were not compelling as to warrant the cancellation of the primary election.

The Appeal Committee also called on all APC stakeholders in Edo State to put the party’s interest over and above personal interests in ensuring a speedy and amicable reconciliation.

The Appeal Committee also recommended that the leadership of the party step up diplomacy in trying to reconcile stakeholders in Edo State while urging National Chairman of the party, to consolidate on his involvement in reaching out to all aggrieved parties.

The Committee also recommended that a high-powered committee be set up by the Party to reach out and mediate between Governor Adams Oshiomhole and all aspirants who participated in the primary election.

Meanwhile, Chief Odigie-Oyegun has congratulated Obaseki on his emergence as the APC flag-bearer for the September 10, 2016 governorship election in Edo State.

Odigie-Oyegun also congratulated Governor Aminu Bello Masari-led seven-member Election Committee for successfully conducting a “very transparent, free, fair and credible governorship primaries in Edo State”.

He also thanked the Hon. Opeyemi Bamidele-led three-member Edo State governorship Election Appeal Committee for successfully carrying out its assignment and submitting a report.

The APC National Chairman called on party stakeholders to close ranks and support the candidature of Mr. Godwin Obaseki in the run-up to the Edo State Governorship elections.

“As the party prepares for the September 10, 2016 governorship election in Edo State, I call on all aspirants, party leaders, stakeholders and teeming members of our great Party to close ranks and unite as a strong political fighting force behind the candidature of Mr. Godwin Obaseki for a landslide victory at the forthcoming Edo State governorship election.

“The request by the aspirants was that the Edo State APC governorship election primaries should be transparent, free, fair and credible. This, the Party achieved creditably during the primaries. Going forward, we should avoid triumphalist actions and avoid creating new stresses within the Party. We should all seek to reunify the Party to face the September 10, 2016 governorship election”, he said.

%d bloggers like this: