Home » News » Dogara Names Committee Chairs

Dogara Names Committee Chairs

…As Mongunu, Onyejeocha, Jones, Ukeji Retain Position 
Dyepkazah Shibayan, Abuja
The Speaker of the House of Representatives, Hon. Yakubu Dogara yesterday named members who will chair the various committees of the House.
A total number of 96 standing committees was announced by the Speaker in plenary of which 48 committees went to the All Progressive Congress (APC), 46 committees went to Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), 1 committee went to the Social Democratic Party (SDP) and 1 committee went to the All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA).
Reps Mohammad Monguno, Nkeiruka Onyejeocha Chukwudi Jones, Nnenna Ukeji, Nicholas Mutu and Aminu Shagari retained their committee chairmanship of Agricultural Production and Services, Aviation, Banking and Currency, Foreign Affairs, Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC) and Federal Judiciary respectively. 
New 8 committees announced by the Speaker were Agricultural Colleges and Institutions, Basic Education and Services,  Delegated Legislation, FCT Judiciary, Health Institutions, IDPs Refugees and Initiatives on North East, Insurance and Actuarial Matters, Tertiary Education and Services would be chaired by Reps Linus Okorie, Mohammed Zakari, Simon Arabo, Laori Kwamoti, Betty Apiafi, Sani Zoro, Olufemi Fakeye and Aminu Suleiman respectively. 
Members loyal to Speaker Dogara who belonged to the consolidation group such as Reps Jibrin Abdulmumin and Adams Jagaba will chair Appropriations and Interior. 
Committees such as Army, Defence, Navy, Finance, Petroleum Resources Downstream and Petroleum Resources upstream would be chaired by Reps Rima Kwewum, Muktar Aliyu, Abdussamad Dasuki, Babangida Ibrahim, Akinlaja Joseph and Victor Nwokolo. 
Other such as National Planning and Economic Development, Media and Public Affairs, Police Affairs and Science and Technology will be chaired by Reps Jephter Foigha, Abdulrazak Namdas, Haliru Jika and Beni Lar amongst others.
The Niger Delta Affairs committee is yet to have a chairman named.
%d bloggers like this: