Home » News » Delta: Former Speaker Doles Out N2.5m To 10 Best Graduating Students

Delta: Former Speaker Doles Out N2.5m To 10 Best Graduating Students

Omos Oyinbode, Asaba

In fulfillment of his promise to reward academic excellence in the Federal College of Education (Technical), Asaba, the immediate past Speaker of Delta State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Engr. Victor Ochei, has doled out N2.5 million to 10 best graduating students in 10 departments in the college.

The recipients of Hon. Ochei’s award for academic excellence who graduated in 2012/2013 academic session of the college were given the sum of N250,000 each during the 28th matriculation ceremony of the institution held in the institution at the weekend.

Speaking during the ceremony, Ochei said that the monetary reward was given to the students in recognition of their academic exploits in their various departments.

Represented by the former Manager General Manager of Delta Broadcasting Service, Asaba, Mr. Ephraim Osubor, Ochei said the award was instituted by him to recognize hard work and to promote the culture of academic excellence among students in the college, adding that he was quite impressed with the Provost and management of the college for blazing the trail in the area of manpower development.

While commending the Provost, Dr. Nwanze Ignatius Ezoem for his tenacity and doggedness in ensuring academic excellence in the institution, the former Speaker urged the 10 students (beneficiaries of the award) to see the award as something that would spur them for greater height in their academic life, even as he assured management of the college that he would continue to identify with the institution.

Provost of the college, Dr. Nwanze Ignatius Ezoem, who applauded Ochei for instituting the award for academic excellence in the institution, implored well-meaning Nigerians to emulate his (Ochei’s) philanthropic disposition, just as he enjoined students in the college strive for academic excellence so that they could, also, be recognized and rewarded.

The recipients of the award were Miss Mgboufa Bekere Gloria of the Department of Secretarial Studies (3.41), Miss Lovelina Ibenali of the Department of Adult and Non-Formal Education (4.46), Obioma Eyituoyo of the Department of Building Technology (3.64), Miss Ezeuda Chinelo of the Department of Accounting (4.47) and Ikueze Adaobi of the Department of Primary Education (4.57).

%d bloggers like this: