Home » News » Delta Assembly Elects Igbuya, Osanebi As Speaker, Deputy

Delta Assembly Elects Igbuya, Osanebi As Speaker, Deputy

Omos Oyinbode, Asaba

Delta State House of Assembly has elected former Majority Leader of the House, Hon. Monday Imgbuya, as Speaker of the 6th Assembly following the expiration of the 5th Assembly which was inaugurated by former Governor Emmanuel Uduaghan on June 6, 2011.

The election of Hon. Monday Igbuya, representing Sapele State Constituency followed the unanimous adoption of his nomination by the member representing Ughelli North 1, Hon Samuel Mariere, and seconded by Hon Tim Owhefere, Isoko North. The nomination of Hon. Friday Osanebi as Deputy Speaker by the immediate past Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon. Peter Onwusanya, was seconded by Hon Dennis Omovie, Warri South 2, was also unanimous adopted as no other nomination was made.

The oath of office was administered on the new elected Speaker and Deputy Speaker by the Clerk of the House, Mrs. Lyna Ocholor, at the main Chamber of the State House of Assembly. First to take oath of office was the deputy Speaker, Hon Friday Osanebi, immediately followed by the Speaker, Hon Monday Igbuya. Hon Igbuya who, in his acceptance speech, said he has gathered experiences to pilot the affairs of the state legislature, called for maximum support of all stakeholders to succeed in the task ahead.

The Speaker assured that Deltans would be given priority in the activities of the house, saying the house would perform its constitutional duties diligently and without fear or favour. Hon Igbuya stated that he is the first among equals, saying that he will do his best to provide the required leadership for the house.

Those that took oath of office include Hon Osi Okocha, Aniocha North; Angel Nwaka, Aniocha South; Oboro Preyor, Bomadi; Daniel Yingi, Burutu 1; Kennedy Daubry, Burutu; Evans Iwhure, Ethiope East; Erhiatake Ibori, Ethiope West; Samuel Mariere Ughelli North; Prince Oharisi, Ughelli North; Daniel Mayuku, Warri South West; Micheal Diden, Warri North; Godwin Abigor, Warri South; Dennis Omovie, Warri South; and Johnson Erijo, Isoko South 2. Others include, Oriezi Esievo, Isoko South 1, Tim Owhefere, Isoko North; Alphonsus Ojo, Ukwuani; Azuka Azaka, Ndokwa West; Rueben Izeze, Ughelli South; Pat Ajudua, Oshimili North; Peter Onwusanya, Oshimili South; Festus Okoh, Ika South; Anthony Elekeokwuri, Ika North East; Timi Tonye, Patani; Efe Ofobruku, Uvwie and Chief Peter Uviejitobor. Prior to the election of the Speaker and swearing in of members, the State Governor, Dr. Ifeanyi Okowa inaugurated the 6th Assembly a following a proclamation by the Governor as stipulated by the constitution.

%d bloggers like this: