Home » News » Buhari Sacks, Deploys Perm Secs

Buhari Sacks, Deploys Perm Secs

There Are Indications President Muhammadu Buhari May Have Sent No Less That 17 Federal Permanent Secretaries Packing


Ahead of today’s inauguration of members of his cabinet, indications emerged yesterday that President Muhammadu Buhari may have sent no less than 17 federal permanent secretaries packing.

This is coming amidst speculations that the President intends to run a lean cabinet, reduce a number of ministries, departments and agencies of government A Presidency source disclosed yesterday that the development was in line with efforts to overhaul the Federal Civil Service with a view to strengthening it and making it responsive to the current economic and political realities in the country.

The Union gathered that details of the new measures will be released in full during the inaugural speech proclaiming the commencement of the new cabinet today.

As a pointer to the new measures, however, the President has a meeting considered to be valedictory with the outgoing Federal Permanent Secretaries at the Presidential Villa, yesterday in Abuja. It was also suspected that the decision of the President to prune down the number of federal ministries may have informed the mass sacking.

Some permanent secretaries including the Acting Head of Service of the Federation, Mrs Winifred Ekanem Oyo-Ita, had a closed door meeting with President Buhari at the presidential villa on Tuesday. The sources said the President informed the permanent secretaries of his decision to relieve them of their positions at the meeting.

According to the sources, Mrs. Oyo- Ita may also have been affected. Oyo-Ita, who resumed office on the 21st of last month, was said to have wept at the meeting for her seniors who were affected by the new development.

There was no official statement on the issue as at the time of filing this story President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the appointment of the following as Permanent Secretaries in the Federal Civil Service according to a statement yesterday by Special Adviser on Media & Publicity to the President, Mr. Femi Adesina.

They are Mrs. Ayotunde Adesugba, Alhaji Mahmoud Isa-Dutse, Mr. Taiwo Abidogun, Dr. Bukar Hassan, Mrs. Wakama Belema Asifieka. Mr. Jalal Ahmad Arabi and Mr. Sabiu Zakari Others are Mrs. Obiageli Phyllis Nwokedi, Mr. Aminu Nabegu, Mr. Bamgbose Olukunle Oladele, Mr. Alo Williams Nwankwo and Dr. Shehu Ahmed.

Others include Mr. Ogbonnaya Innocent Kalu Mrs. Nuratu Jimoh Batagarawa and Mr. Christian Chinyeaka Ohaa, Mr. Bassey Apkanyung Mr. Louis Edozien and Dr. Ugo Roy President Buhari has also approved the deployment of Federal Permanent Secretaries as follows:. Dr. Shehu Ahmad, Fed. Min. of Agric & Rural Development; Arch Sunday Echono Fed. Min. of Communications; Alh. Sabiu Zakari , Fed. Min. of Transportation; Mrs. Ayotunde Adesugba, Fed. Min. of Information & Culture; Amb. Danjuma Sheni, Fed. Min. of Defence and Dr. Shade Yemi-Esan ,Fed. Min. of Education.

Others are Mrs. Fatima Mede, Budget & National Planning;Alh. Mahmoud Isa Dutse, Fed. Min. of Finance; Amb. Bulus Lolo, Fed. Min of Foreign Affairs; Dr. Amina Shamaki, Fed. Min. of Health; Mr. Aliyu Bisalla,Fed. Min. of Industry, Trade & Investment; Mr. Bassey Akpanyung ,Fed. Min. of Internal Affairs and Mr. Taiwo Abidogun, Fed. Ministry of Justice Dr. Habiba Lawal, Fed. Min. of Science & Tech; Dr. Clement Illoh, Fed. Min. of Labour & Productivity, Dr. Jamila Shu’ara, Fed. Min of Petroleum Resources; Mrs. Binta Bello, Fed. Min of Women Affairs, Dr. Babatope Ajakaiye, Federal Capital Territory; Mrs. Rabi Jimeta , Fed. Min. of Water Resources and Dr. Bukar Hassan, Fed. Min of Environment. Others include Mrs. Wakama B. Asifieka – Fed. Min. of Niger Delta Affairs; Mr. Istifanus Fuktur, Fed. Min. of Solid Minerals ;Mr. Christian Ohaa, Fed. Min of Youth & Sports; Engr. A.G. Magaji, Fed. Min. of Works & Housing; Mr. Louis Edozien, Fed. Min. of Power;. Mr. Jalal Arabi ,State House ; Mr. Mohammed Bukar , General Services Office, OSGF and Mr. Abbas Mohammed ,Ecological Fund Office, OSGF. Others are Dr. Ugo Roy, Council Secretariat, Mr. Aminu Nabegu , Special Services Office, OSGF; Amb. Bamgbose Akindele , Political Affairs Office, OSGF; Mr. Alo Williams Nwankwo , Economic Affairs Office, OSGF;Mrs. Obiageli Nwokedi , Special Duties Office, OSGF; Mr. Innocent Ogbonnaya ,Career Management Office, OHCSF;Mr. S.K.Y. Adelakun, Common Services Office, OHCSF and Mrs. N. Batagarawa, Service Policy & Strategies Office, OHCSF. The new appointments and deployments are with effect from today, November 10, 2015.


-Tony Ailemen, Abuja

%d bloggers like this: