Home » News » Aregbesola Inaugurates Sixth Osun Assembly

Aregbesola Inaugurates Sixth Osun Assembly

Yetunde Oladejo, Osogbo

The sixth Osun House of Assembly was yesterday inaugurated as Hon. Najeem Salaam, returned unopposed as the Speaker. The 5th Assembly of the Osun State House of Assembly, which was inaugurated on June 2, 2011, was earlier dissolved, having completed four years term as stipulated by the constitution. The governor, Mr. Rauf Aregbesola, while inaugurating the assembly, said the event were being inaugurated at a time the state is facing financial challenge, calling for their commitment to the state to overcome the challenge.

Aregbesola added that the present administration will stop at nothing to ensure that people of the state enjoy life abundantly like they have been doing ever since he took the mantle of leadership of the state. In his inaugural speech after conducting the swearing-in of other members of the Assembly, the Speaker, Salaam, who is representing Ejigbo State Constituency pledged to continue to toe the part of peace without compromising the core value of the House.

The speaker who appealed to workers to end their industrial action in the interest of the state stated that the state government has been working assiduously to offset the six months old salary impasse. He lamented that the salary delay was occasioned by the reversal in the fortune of the financial allocation accruable to the state from the Federal allocation. “Today, the current state of things in Osun was not the making of the state government but as a result of the economic downturn that hit the nation in general.“The delay in salary will soon be resolved and our state’s economy returns to its vibrant part.

So, I can assure you that the Governor is working round the clock to bring salary impasse to an end. “I therefore, call on our able workers to please end the current strike they embark on in the interest of our state and people,” the Speaker said. Earlier, the Clerk of the House, Mr. Mudashir Oyeniran had conducted swearing- in of the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker after making the roll-call of honourable members-elect. Some of the members of the 6th Assembly, Mr. Folurunso Bamisayemi, Mr. Babatunde Komolafe and Mr. Lekan Olatunji in their separate remarks assured of the readiness of the members to raise the ante and initiate bills that privilege and honour to be elected to serve in the assembly.

%d bloggers like this: