Home » News » Aregbesola Inaugurates Committee On Revenue Allocation

Aregbesola Inaugurates Committee On Revenue Allocation

Governor Rauf Aregbesola has set up a 17-man committee that would oversee allocation of state’s revenue to prompt payment of salaries as well as adequate running of government.

The committee which is made up of representatives of the government and workers is also for the apportionment of net revenue accruing from the Federation Account and Internally Generated Revenue (IGR).

Speaking during the inauguration of the Committee at the Governor’s Office, Aregbesola stated that the Committee, in a transparent manner, will apportion all funds accruing to the State Government to take care of salaries, pensions and other critical expenditure of government.

The governor noted that all warnings to the realities of the Nigerian economy were ignored adding that those who should know also cried out but were ignored.

His words: “This should not surprise anyone. The then governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria (now the Emir of Kano) Sanusi Lamido Sanusi, had alleged that over $40 billion oil sales was not remitted into the Federation Accounts.

“That was when oil was selling for over $100 per barrel. This tragedy was compounded with the eventual fall in oil price to circa $40. We now know where the money went,” Aregbesola told members of the new committee.

The governor stressed that the present situation of government calls for toughness, saying his administration will critically look at the next 24 months to take the state through the stormy weather.

Aregbesola then called on workers to be prepared for a more efficient service rendering period by changing their attitude from seeing government job as social security but a profitable venture.

He also urged the people of the state on the need to pay tax so that government will be able to pay salaries, run government and develop the state.

“So, we must indeed thank the governor for setting up this committee to assist all of us in finding lasting solution to the financial challenges facing the state.”

Members of the Committee are; veteran Labour Leader and one time Secretary General of the Organisation of African Trade Unions (OATU), Comrade Hassan Sunmonu as the chairman, Osun NLC Chairman, Comrade Jacob Adekomi, Chairman, Joint Negotiating Council (JNC) Comrade Bayo Adejumo, Osun’s Nigerian Union Teachers Chairman, Comrade Wakeel Amuda, Comrade Rufus Adeyemi, Comrade Mrs. Oluwatoyin Idowu, Comrade Afolabi, Comrade Gbenga Oyebode and Comrade Akeem Ibrahim.

Others are; Chief of staff to the Governor, Alhaji Gboyega Oyetola, former Group Managing Director of Oodua Investment, Mr. Bayo Jimoh, former Commissioner for Information, Mr. Sunday Akere, Managing Director, Osun Investment Company, Mr. Bola Oyebamiji, Permanent Secretaries of the Ministries of Finance, Local Government and Chieftaincy titles and that of Human Resources and Capacity Building.


– Yetunde Oladejo, Osogbo

%d bloggers like this: