Home » News » Adeyemi Emerges Oyo Speaker

Adeyemi Emerges Oyo Speaker

Rotimi Agboluaje, Ibadan

Honourable Michael Adeyemo has been elected as the Speaker of the Eighth Oyo State House of Assembly. The Speaker was elected unopposed. Adeyemo who represents Ibarapa East in the House was nominated by Hon. Kehinde Subair who represents Ibadan South West l and the nomination was seconded by Hon. Joshua Olagungu Ojo from Oriire state constituency. Right Honourable Adeyemo ,a lawyer by training was the Deputy Chief Whip in the Seventh Assembly.

The oath of allegiance was administered on the speaker by the Clerk of the House. In an acceptance speech, the speaker promised not to disappoint the House and the state. He stressed the House would not be a rubber stamp but work with the executive arm to move the state forward . In the same vein, Barrister Abdulwasiu Musa from Saki West was elected as the Deputy Speaker of the House while Hon. Kehinde Subair was elected as the Majority Leader.

The election to the post of Minority Leader was contested between Hon.Muideen Olagungu (Accord) and Hon. Olagungun Ojo (Labour). The election saw the emergence of Olagungun Ojo from Oriire constituency as the minority leader. Also,Hon. Akinmoyede Olafioye from Lagelu constituency was unopposed elected as the Chief Whip while Adekunle Olalsere from Ido constituency emerged as the Deputy Chief Whip. The ceremony was witnessed by Deputy Governor Moses Adeyemo, a former governor of the stated. Omololu Olunloyo; the Chief Judge of the state, and others. Speaking at the event, Governor Abiola Ajimobi said he was happy that he is the first governor to inaugurate the assembly two times.

%d bloggers like this: