Home » Education » UNILAG VC Bags NANS Outstanding Award

UNILAG VC Bags NANS Outstanding Award

Titus Eleweke

The Vice-Chancellor, University of Lagos, Prof. Rahamon Bello has won the National Association of Nigerian Students (NANS), Vice Chancellor outstanding Award of the year . The event which took place at the 2nd Floor (Senate Chambers), Senate House of UNILAG was graced by Deputy Vice Chancellor, Academic & Research, Prof. Babajide Alo; Deputy Vice Chancellor,Management Services, Prof. Duro Oni; Registrar and Secretary to Council, Dr. (Mrs.) Taiwo F. Ipaye; Bursar, Mr. Lateef Odekunle; the University Librarian, Dr. (Mrs.) Olukemi Fadehan.

Others personalities at the occasion include, Director, Academic Planning, Prof. Oluwatoyin Ogundipe; Immediate Past Dean, Student Affairs Division, Prof. Olukayode Amund; Director, Vice Chancellor’s Office, Mrs. Funmilayo Amodu; Deputy Dean 1, Student Affairs Division, Dr Anthony Kayode and Deputy Dean II, Student Affairs Division, Dr. Karo Ogbinakaa. Dean, Student Affairs Division, Prof. Tunde Babawale, in his opening remarks congratulated NANS for deeming it fit to honour the Vice Chancellor, saying that the honour will serve as a tonic and catalyst for him to do more.

Speaking, the Vice President of NANS, Comrade Tosin Ogunkuade,said NANS is the largest Student Movement in Africa and it comprises All Universities, Polytechnics, Monotechnics, and College of Technologies in Nigeria. Ogunkuade said that NANS was rewarding the Vice Chancellor for his leadership quality towards the resuscitation of students’ union activities in the university, which was banned due to misunderstanding and misinformation between the management and students of the institution in 2005.

Responding, Prof. Bello thanked NANS Executives under the leadership of Comrade Tijani Usman, for bestowing such an honour on him, while in office but stated that the bigger appreciation should go to immediate Past Dean, Student Affairs Division, Prof. Olukayode Amund, who initiated the process. He also commended Prof. Solomon Akinboye, who headed the Constitution Drafting Committee, University of Lagos Students Union.

The vice chancellor also commended UNILAG Students for making the process a success. He assured NANS that the management of the university would never joked with students’ welfare, stressing that the major reason for setting up to 10 different committees was to take care of Students Welfares.

%d bloggers like this: